The History Council is governed by a Committee of Management.  Committee members are elected from the History Council membership at the Annual General Meeting. The Committee comprises up to seventeen members; fifteen are elected by the corporate and individual membership and two are chosen by the Indigenous membership of the Council.

At the 2016/17 Annual General Meeting, the following members were appointed:


President: Emeritus Professor Jenny Gregory AM taught and researched in the fields of history and heritage at The University of Western Australia for many years. She was Director of UWA’s Centre for WA History, Head of the School of Humanities (2009-15) and Chair of History (2007-08). Her research spans urban history, town planning and heritage, focusing in particular on people and their response to remnants of the past. Her publications include City of Light: a history of Perth since the fifties (2003) and histories of Claremont (with Geoff Bolton) and Scotch College, as well as the edited collections, Seeking Wisdom: a Centenary History of UWA (2013), and the Historical Encyclopedia of Western Australia (2009). She was inaugural President of the History Council of WA (2003–07), is a member of the Board of Australia Day WA, former President and Chair of the National Trust of Australia (WA) (1998–2010), and a former Director of UWA Press.

Vice President: Bobbie Oliver is Associate Professor of History at Curtin University, where she teaches and researches Australian history and labour history.  Her publications include a history of the ALP in Western Australia (Unity is Strength, API Network, 2003), a co-edited history of the Midland Government Railway Workshops (The Workshops, UWA Press, 2006), a biography of Labor activist Jean Beadle (UWA Press, 2007) and Lest we Forget (Black Swan Press, 2014, co-edited with Sue Summers).  She is currently researching a history of the Independent Education Union of WA.  Bobbie is an Executive Member of the Australian Society for the Study of Labour History, Perth Branch, and of the History Foundation of Western Australia.

Secretary: Helen Munt is President of the Professional Historians Association (WA). She has tertiary qualifications from UWA and WAAPA and has worked professionally in the heritage and interpretation sectors since 1994, in areas as diverse as development, conservation, heritage listings, policy development, management plans, grant assessment, interpretation and heritage-based tourism events and products. She also has strong abilities in communication and consultation, project management & delivery and has nurtured a vast network of professional and community contacts and associations from across the State, particularly through her work as regional heritage advisor. Helen has been involved in independent theatre since the 1990s and is an Artistic Director of Scooplight Theatre.

Treasurer: Nick Drew


Jan Baldwin

Robin Barrington

Jim Cameron is an historical geographer with particular interests in the European occupation of Australia in the nineteenth century and the evolution of the cultural landscapes of rural Australia.

Bridget Curran currently works at the City of Belmont Museum.

Neil Foley is Managing Director of Planning Consultants Australia Pty Ltd, a Perth-based urban and regional planning consultancy he established upon leaving the Department of Planning in 2009 after almost 30 years’ service in the State’s planning agencies, and prior to that, at the then Shire of Wanneroo. Apart from being qualified in planning, Neil also holds qualifications in property, real estate, archives administration and librarianship. He served on the Board of the Swan River Trust between 2003 and 2007. He has been a member of the Waste Authority of Western Australia since 2011, and between 2011 and 2013 he was the Presiding Member of the Metro South-West and the South West Joint Development Assessment Panels established under the Planning and Development Act 2005. Since 2016 he has been a member of the State Records Commission’s State Records Advisory Committee. He currently teaches planning students on a part-time basis at the University of Western Australia.

Anthony Lunt is currently the Head of History at Trinity College, East Perth, and a PhD candidate at the University of Western Australia.  He has been a high school History teacher for 25 years graduating from UWA with an Honours Degree in History and a Diploma of Education. In 2003 Anthony was ‘Teacher-in-Residence’ at Curtin University.  From 2005 he has been a Marker for the State TEE/WACE History exams, and from 2013 a committee member of the History Teachers’ Association of WA.

Jan McCahon Marshall has been a member of the History Council of Western Australia from the establishment of the Council.  Her current position is Cultural Heritage Team Leader, City of Perth History Centre, part of the Arts, Culture and Heritage Unit in the  Economic Development and Activation Directorate. The function of the History Centre is to collect, preserve and make available historical records relating to the City of Perth municipal boundaries from yesterday through to today.

Geoff Moor is the part-time Heritage officer at the City of Canning and previously Manager Recreation Services until part retirement. He has also been a Council Member of National Trust of Australia (WA); a member of Classification Committee; a Life member Canning Agricultural Society; secretary of the local historical society; chair of the metropolitan chapter of MAWA. He has an avid interest in classic motoring, including being President of the Council of Motoring Clubs of WA; secretary Veteran Car Club of WA (VCCWA); past president VCCWA and past president Veteran Car Clubs of Australia.  Life member VCCWA; past secretary Motor Museum of WA Trust. He has completed a Bachelor of Applied Science and has a keen interest in Western Australian commercial/retail history – completing the ECU museum studies certificate.

Bob Reece is a committee member of the Fremantle History Society.

Cindy Solonec is an Honorary Research Fellow at UWA and conducts tutorials addressing Indigenous Education.  Herself a Nigena from the West Kimberley, Cindy’s research in social history identifies an untold story of Aboriginal History that is unlike that of other regions of Australia.

Pamela Statham Drew


Our Executive Officer is Sandra Curtis